Columbia Uninsured Motorist Lawyers

In Missouri, it is illegal to drive without car insurance. However, many drivers still take the risk and drive without the liability coverage the law requires.

As a result, Missouri law requires all car insurance policies to include at least $25,000 in coverage for accidents involving uninsured drivers. So, if you have car insurance in Missouri and are in an accident with an uninsured driver, your policy will provide coverage.

Uninsured motorist coverage also covers situations involving unknown or "phantom" drivers. This includes hit-and-run accidents where the driver flees the scene.

Act Quickly After a Hit-and-Run

If you were in a hit-and-run accident, it is important that you act quickly to report the crash to your insurance company. In order to prevent fraud, many insurance companies require you to report an accident with a hit-and-run driver within a certain amount of time. This may be as little as 24 hours.

Handling Issues With Your Insurance Company

At Allen & Nelson, P.C., we have the knowledge and experience to help resolve any issues you have obtaining coverage under your policy. These types of insurance claims are unique, and it can be difficult for an individual to take on their insurer in a claim dispute. We can act as your advocate so that you can get the coverage you need and deserve.

Insurance policies can be difficult to read and understand. They are also governed by Missouri law, which means that certain policy terms may not apply in your case. For this reason, it is important to work with a lawyer who understand the current state of the law and who has experience handling insurance issues.
Our attorneys have in-depth knowledge of policy contract language and the regulations that govern policies in Missouri.

Stacking Uninsured Motorist Coverage

If you have multiple insured vehicles, you may be able to "stack" your coverage to help you cover the cost of your injuries. This can be beneficial if you have extensive medical bills or significant other damages that go beyond the standard uninsured motorist coverage for one vehicle. The rules around stacked, however, can be complicated. We can help you understand your rights under your policy and negotiate with your insurance company for the coverage you need.

What if the Other Driver Is Underinsured?

Similar to uninsured motorist coverage, you may have underinsured motorist coverage. However, this type of insurance is not required in Missouri. You need to opt into this type of coverage.

Underinsured motorist coverage helps to cover costs when the other driver does not have enough insurance to compensate you for your injuries. The rules and policy terms around this coverage can be complicated. We can guide you through the process of obtaining full and fair coverage under your policy and under the local laws governing this type of insurance.

Get Advice From a Lawyer About Your Insurance

Our attorneys can help you understand the terms of your policy and your options under the law. We can also help you bring claims for coverage and damages against insurers and negligent drivers. Speak with an attorney at our firm by calling toll free at 866-563-0997 or by calling 573-355-9561. You can also contact us online.