Traffic Law FAQ

What are "points" and what do they mean to my driving record?

In Missouri, when you are convicted of a moving violation, the Missouri Department of Revenue receives notice of the conviction and adds "points" to your driving record. When you accumulate too many points, you may lose your driving privilege.

How do I know how many points go on my record for a violation?

Below is a list of common traffic violations and the amount of points you will receive if convicted of each violation (please note this list is not exhaustive):

Speeding (State law violation). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 points
Speeding (County or municipal ordinance violation) . . . . . .

2 points

Careless and Imprudent Driving (State law violation) . . . . . 4 points
Careless and Imprudent Driving (County or municipal ordinance violation) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 points
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility (a.k.a. No Insurance) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 points
Leaving the Scene of an Accident (State law violation). . . .12 points
Leaving the Scene of an Accident (County or municipal ordinance violation) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6 points
Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License . . . . . . . . . .12 points
Operating without a Valid License
First Offense. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 points
Second Offense . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 points
Third Offense. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .6 points


How many points will it take for my license to be suspended?

If you accumulate 8 or more points in an 18-month period, your driving privilege will be suspended. For a first suspension, your license will be suspended for 30 days. A second suspension, 60 days. A third or subsequent suspension, your license will be suspended for 90 days.

How many points will it take for my license to be revoked?

Your driving privilege will be revoked for one year if you accumulate any of the following number of points in the following time periods:

  • 12 or more points in 12 months
  • 18 or more points in 24 months
  • 24 or more points in 36 months

How do points come off my driving record?

Every year you drive without getting new points on your driving record, your points will be reduced. After one year, your points will be reduced by one-third. After two years, your remaining points will be reduced by one-half. After three years, your points will be reduced to zero. Also, if your license has been suspended or revoked, when your driving privilege is reinstated your total points will be reduced to 4.

Are there other potential consequences to being convicted of a traffic violation?

Yes. Adding points to your driving record is only one aspect of being convicted of a driving offense. There are other potential serious consequences to driving offenses. Most driving violations are misdemeanors, which are punishable by fines and/or jail time.

Depending on the number of prior offenses, some offenses become a felony if you have been convicted of the same offense multiple times in the past. There are some offenses that require mandatory jail time. Also, even for a first offense for a minor moving violation, your insurance rates can be increased.

It is important to contact a Columbia, Missouri, traffic lawyer if you have any questions about the potential impact of a traffic violation. Contact Allen & Nelson, P.C., to have the firm refer you to a skilled criminal defense attorney who can help you quickly and legally resolve your traffic ticket matters.